I am Real, I am Human, and I Feel!

There are many ways to have and express feelings and emotions. In a neurodiverse community, these are neither good not bad. And having difficulty expressing these because of autism does not mean an autistic individual lacks feelings, emotions, and empathy.

The Aspie Teacher

Imagine that you are having a serious conversation with someone that you have been involved with for almost 20 years and they end up telling you that they don’t know what makes you happy.

How would that make you feel?

Distraught? Shocked? Beside yourself? Dumbfounded?

How about all of the above?

This scenario actually happened to me recently and it was all of the above for me. There I was with someone I had devoted my life to and this person had no idea what makes me happy.  How could this be?  I knew this person inside and out.  How could they not know me?

I had to give myself sometime to process this revelation and to figure out how this was even possible. I have encountered this type of thing before, but never at this level.

 I was told growing up that I was stuck-up just because I didn’t…

View original post 1,858 more words

Leave a Reply

